About CAS
- Faculty Research
- CAS Newsletters
- Recent Faculty Publications
- Africa at Rutgers


Faculty, Staff, Visiting Scholars


For Students
- Undergraduate Minor
- Graduate Certificate
- Center for Global Education


Upcoming Events


African Languages: AMESALL


Resources for K-12 Teachers & Businesses
- CAS Outreach
- Library Resources
- Museum Links
- News Sources
- Other Centers

Centers for Global Advancement & International Affairs
Search Rutgers

Donate to CAS


Walton Johnson,
Africana Studies

Allen Howard, History
Abena P.A. Busia, English

Faculty, Staff, and Visiting Scholars

The Center's activities are organized into the following Standing Committees that develop and implement programs:

CAS Personnel

Stéphane Robolin
Director, Fall 2015 through Spring 2016

Bayo Holsey
Associate Director, Fall 2015 through Spring 2016 (spring sabbatical)

Renée DeLancey

CAS Standing Executive Committee

Abena P. A. Busia
Through Spring 2016
Women's & Gender Studies

Carolyn Brown
Through Spring 2016

Renée Larrier
Fall 2015 through Spring 2016

CAS Members

Akinbiyi Akinlabi
| Linguistics |akinlabi@rci.rutgers.edu |

Ousseina Alidou
| AMESALL | oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu |

Albert Ayeni
| Plant Bio./Pathology | ayeni@aesop.rutgers.edu |

Francis Barchi
| Social Work | francis.barchi@ssw.rutgers.edu |

Sarah Brett-Smith
| Art History | brettsmi@rci.rutgers.edu |

Carolyn A. Brown
| History | cbrown@panix.com |

Abena P. A. Busia
| Women's and Gender | busia@rci.rutgers.edu |

Barbara Callaway, Emeritus
| Political Science |

Catie Coe
| Sociology (Camden) | ccoe@camden.rutgers.edu |

Barbara Cooper
| History/WGS | bacooper@rci.rutgers.edu |

Lee Cronk
| Anthropology | leecronk@rci.rutgers.edu |

Rebecca Davis
| Social Work | redavis@ssw.rutgers.edu |

Emmet A. Dennis
| Cell Bio. & Neuroscience | edennis@rci.rutgers.edu |

Eric Garfunkel
| Chemistry & Chemical Biology| egarf@rutgers.edu |

John W. K. Harris
| Anthropology | jwharris@rci.rutgers.edu |

Angelique Haugerud
| Anthropology | haugerud@rci.rutgers.edu |

Heidi Hausermann
|Human Ecology | hausermann@aesop.rutgers.edu |

Dorothy Hodgson
| Anthropology | dhodgson@rci.rutgers.edu |

Bayo Holsey
| History | bayo.holsey@rutgers.edu |

Allen Howard, Emeritus
| History | ahoward@rci.rutgers.edu |

David M. Hughes
| Anthropology | dhughes@aesop.rutgers.edu |

Walton Johnson
| Africana Studies | waltonj@rci.rutgers.edu |

Yeon-Soo Kim
| Spanish & Portuguese | yeonsoo_kim@yahoo.com |

Renée Larrier
| French | rlarrier@rci.rutgers.edu |

Barbara Lewis, Emeritus
| Political Science | bclewis@rci.rutgers.edu |

Julie Livingston
| History | jliving@tulrich.com |

Susan Martin-Marquez
| Spanish & Port. | susanmm@rci.rutgers.edu |

Alamin Mazrui
| AMESALL | amazrui@rci.rutgers.edu |

Bonnie McCay
| Human Ecology | mccay@aesop.rutgers.edu |

Arthur Powell
| Urban Education | abpowell@andromeda.rutgers.edu |

Edward Ramsamy

| Africana Studies | ramsamy@rci.rutgers.edu |

Stéphane Robolin
| English | srobolin@rci.rutgers.edu |

Mark Robson
| Environ. & Occ. Health | robson@eohsi.rutgers.edu |

Philip Rothwell
| Spanish & Port. | philroth@rci.rutgers.edu |

Walter Rucker
| History | wrucker@history.rutgers.edu |

Zakia Salime
| Sociology | zsalime@sociology.rutgers.edu |

Richard Schroeder
| Geography | rschroed@rci.rutgers.edu |

Samah Selim
| AMESALL | sselim@rci.rutgers.edu |

Richard Serrano
| French | rserrano@rci.rutgers.edu |

James Simon
| Plant Bio./ Pathology | jesimon@aesop.rutgers.edu |

Genese Sodikoff
| Soc./Anthro. |sodikoff@andromeda.rutgers.edu |

Meredeth Turshen
| Public Health | turshen@rci.rutgers.edu |

William Wright
| CAS Visiting Scholar | bilright@earthlink.net |

Visiting Scholars

Saliou Dione
September 12, 2015-June 12, 2016
Fulbright African Research Senior Scholar 2015
Associate Professor
Department of English
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
African and Postcolonial Studies Laboratory
Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar, Senegal
Curriculum Vitae
Fulbright Project
Contact: salioudione@hotmail.com


Dr. Saliou DIONE

The postcolonial literature has been perpetrating for a long time the male-female binary system dictated by the politics of patriarchy and capitalism. However, a new scholarly trend embodied by both men and women has emerged and attempts at exploring new long-time held taboo issues such as sex, sexual orientations and sexual identity, thus challenging the existing heteronormative conception for a new sexual consciousness spearheaded by “new” essences that are more concerned about their sexual pleasure and fulfillment-seeking. Up to now, not enough researches have been conducted in the gender and sex and sexuality-related field in Africa. In fact, today, sex, sexuality(ies), sexual orientations and sexual identity(ies) have become central to human being’s life and development in so far as they provide them with somehow the “balance” needed in life. Unfortunately, myth and taboo have always surrounded African sexualities. The continued insistence that the one-dimensional conception of heteronormativity-based sexual orientation represents a slice of African realities, even when historical documentation and ethnographic and sociological findings question its validity, provides ample evidence that reality is indeed (re)creatable. New sexual consciousness against the hegemony of sex, gender and heterosexuality has now emerged and is claiming existence and recognition. So, how can one justify or excuse the “conspiracy” in erasing the other woman, the other man, that independent, strong, and pleasure-seeking human being, whose presence, sexuality, sexual orientations and sexual identities, as well as lifestyle are often misunderstood and rejected in most African societies?

The topic will unearth the interrelationships that exist between the different elements, their closely related, as well as the new postcolonial gender discourse embodied by some female scholars who do not identity with the Eurocentric conception of gender. This work of research intends to explore the implications on masculinity and femininity, which have, however, somehow known a new trend and requires a new approach and analysis. Cultural factors can also be looked at as accounting for the emergence of sexuality and gender stereotyping as well as the “new” human beings that have emerged as a result of the impact of the global economy, neocolonialism, contact with other cultures, cross-cultural influences. As this has produced new orders and new essences representing the male and female subjects, there is need to ponder over the ongoing reversed gender stereotypes, roles, sexualities, patriarchy, masculinity, polygamy, heterosexuality, among other vices designed to create a feeling of otherness.


Louis Audet Gosselin
September 2014-January 1, 2016
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph.D. in Sociology 2013
Université du Québec à Montréal, Montréal, Canada
Curriculum Vitae
Contact: louisaudetgosselin@gmail.com


Louis Audet Gosselin recently completed a Ph.D. in sociology at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM), Canada, on the topic of contemporary religious dynamics in Burkina Faso, in particular the reflections made among young religious militants on topics related with national history, cultural identity, moral aspirations and class interest at the time of the 50th anniversary of independence of the country. He previously obtained Bachelor and Master degrees in history at Université Laval in Quebec City, Canada. His other work includes research on social history of religion in Burkina Faso, urban history, political caricature, youth, faith-based development organizations as well as the sociology of social class and stratification. His current postdoctoral project at the Center for African Studies in Rutgers will aim at analyzing the social and religious history of intellectuals and white collars in Burkina Faso from 1945 onwards.







© 2011 Center for African Studies - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All Rights Reserved.

Center for African Studies
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
54 Joyce Kilmer Avenue, Lucy Stone Hall A346, Piscataway NJ 08854-8045
Phone: (848) 445-6638 Fax: (732) 445-6637
Contact Webmistress