About CAS
- Faculty Research
- CAS Newsletters
- Recent Faculty Publications

   

Faculty & Staff

   

For Students
- Undergraduate
- Graduate
- Center for Global Education

   

Upcoming Events

   

African Languages: AMESALL

   

Resources for K-12 Teachers & Businesses
- CAS Outreach
- Library Resources
- Museum Links
- News Sources
- Other Centers

   
Office of International Programs

   
Search Rutgers

   
Donate to CAS

   
 

Walton Johnson,
Africana Studies

Allen Howard, History
Abena P.A. Busia, English



Faculty, Staff, and Visiting Scholars

The Center's activities are organized into the following Standing Committees that develop and implement programs:


CAS Personnel

Ousseina Alidou | Director | oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu

Renée Larrier | Associate Director | rlarrier@rci.rutgers.edu

Renée DeLancey | Assistant to Director | rdelance@rci.rutgers.edu


CAS Standing Executive Committee

Ousseina Alidou | AMESALL |oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu

Renée Larrier | French | rlarrier@rci.rutgers.edu

Abena P.A. Busia| Women's & Gender Studies | busia@rci.rutgers.edu

Carolyn Brown | History | cbrown@panix.com



CAS Members

Akinbiyi Akinlabi | Linguistics |akinlabi@rci.rutgers.edu
Ousseina Alidou | AMESALL | oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu
Albert Ayeni | Plant Bio./Pathology | ayeni@aesop.rutgers.edu
Francis Barchi | Social Work | francis.barchi@ssw.rutgers.edu
Sarah Brett-Smith | Art History | brettsmi@rci.rutgers.edu
Carolyn A. Brown | History | cbrown@panix.com
Abena P.A. Busia | Women's and Gender | busia@rci.rutgers.edu
Barbara Callaway, Emeritus | Political Science |
Catie Coe | Sociology (Camden) | ccoe@camden.rutgers.edu
Barbara Cooper | History/WGS | bacooper@rci.rutgers.edu
Lee Cronk | Anthropology | leecronk@rci.rutgers.edu
Rebecca Davis | Social Work | redavis@ssw.rutgers.edu
Emmet A. Dennis | Cell Bio. & Neuroscience | edennis@rci.rutgers.edu
Eric Garfunkel | Chemistry & Chemical Biology| egarf@rutgers.edu
John W.K. Harris | Anthropology | jwharris@rci.rutgers.edu
Angelique Haugerud | Anthropology | haugerud@rci.rutgers.edu
Dorothy Hodgson | Anthropology | dhodgson@rci.rutgers.edu
Allen Howard, Emeritus | History | ahoward@rci.rutgers.edu
David M. Hughes | Anthropology | dhughes@aesop.rutgers.edu
Walton Johnson | Africana Studies | waltonj@rci.rutgers.edu
Yeon-Soo Kim | Spanish & Portuguese | yeonsoo_kim@yahoo.com
Renée Larrier | French | rlarrier@rci.rutgers.edu
Barbara Lewis, Emeritus | Political Science | bclewis@rci.rutgers.edu
Julie Livingston | History | jliving@tulrich.com
Susan Martin-Marquez | Spanish & Port. | susanmm@rci.rutgers.edu
Alamin Mazrui | AMESALL | amazrui@rci.rutgers.edu
Bonnie McCay | Human Ecology | mccay@aesop.rutgers.edu
Arthur Powell | Urban Education | abpowell@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Edward Ramsamy | Africana Studies | ramsamy@rci.rutgers.edu
Mark Robson | Environ. & Occ. Health | robson@eohsi.rutgers.edu
Philip Rothwell | Spanish & Port. | philroth@rci.rutgers.edu
Zakia Salime | Sociology | zsalime@sociology.rutgers.edu
Richard Schroeder | Geography | rschroed@rci.rutgers.edu
Samah Selim | AMESALL | sselim@rci.rutgers.edu
Richard Serrano | French | rserrano@rci.rutgers.edu
James Simon | Plant Bio./ Pathology | jesimon@aesop.rutgers.edu
Genese Sodikoff | Soc./Anthro. |sodikoff@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Meredeth Turshen | Public Health | turshen@rci.rutgers.edu
William Wright | CAS Visiting Scholar | bilright@earthlink.net


Visiting Scholars
 

Louis Audet Gosselin
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
Postdoctoral Fellow
January 1, 2014-January 1, 2016
Ph.D. in Sociology 2013
Université du Québec à Montréal, Montréal, Canada
Curriculum Vitae
Contact: louisaudetgosselin@gmail.com

 

Louis Audet Gosselin recently completed a Ph.D. in sociology at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM), Canada, on the topic of contemporary religious dynamics in Burkina Faso, in particular the reflections made among young religious militants on topics related with national history, cultural identity, moral aspirations and class interest
at the time of the 50th anniversary of independence of the country. He previously obtained Bachelor and Master degrees in history at Université Laval in Quebec City, Canada. His other work includes research on social history of religion in Burkina Faso, urban history, political caricature, youth, faith-based development organizations as well as the sociology of social class and stratification. His current postdoctoral project at the Center for African Studies in Rutgers will aim at analyzing the social and religious history of intellectuals and white collars in Burkina Faso from 1945 onwards.

 
 

Mora McLean
September 4, 2012 - December 31, 2013
President Emerita of the Africa-America Institute
Contact: mlm385@rci.rutgers.edu

 

"My research and writing deals with the history and contemporary concerns of the globally disbursed African Diaspora. In particular, I am investigating the roles and influence of members of a generation of U.S. activists and intellectuals--individuals such as Horace Mann Bond, the first black president of Lincoln University--whose influence on international relations and contributions to African nation-building after World War II are not well known or understood. Examining the history of development theory and practice, analyzing the feasibility of Pan-Africanism, and exploring possible implications for transnational approaches to addressing economic disparities and soaring inequality within and outside the United States, are also among my research
interests."

 


 

 

 

 

 


© 2011 Center for African Studies - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All Rights Reserved.

Center for African Studies
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
54 Joyce Kilmer Avenue, Lucy Stone Hall A346, Piscataway NJ 08854-8045
Phone: (848) 445-6638 Fax: (732) 445-6637
Contact Webmistress